Types by maturity & fertility

Peats have varying degrees of decay. Some peats are mature because the material from which they were formed has been decomposed, while some have not. This is why the level of maturity varies. In addition, based on the level of fertility, peat is divided into Eutrophic, Mesotrophic, and Oligotrophic peat.

Types of peat based on maturity level

Types of peat by fertility level:

  • Eutrophic peat, which is fertile peat rich in minerals, base, and other nutrients. Eutrophic peats usually have a thin layer. They are influenced by river or sea sediments, so it is generally scattered in coastal and river areas.
  • Mesotrophic peat, which is slightly fertile and is characterized by moderate alkaline mineral content. The mesotrophic layer has a lower fertility rate than the eutrophic layer, but a higher fertility rate than the oligotrophic layer.,
  • Oligotrophic peat, which is less fertile as it is poor in minerals and nutrients. Oligotrophic peatlands are usually located far from the influence of river and sea mud. Oligotrophic peat contains very low base cations such as Ca, Mg, K, and Na, especially in deep peat. This causes the fertility level of oligotrophic peat to be the lowest compared to eutrophic and mesotrophic peat. Oligotrophic peat is commonly found on inland peatlands in Kalimantan.

Support Us

Share this information with your family and friends.